Blog Intro – #1

I am going to attempt to gear my blog toward helping someone find a meaningful term of employment, utilizing social media tools. So my first blog in this assignment is to identify the project and explain how and why I will succeed in covering this topic.

Most recently my brother lost his job, as I am sure that at least one or people in our class can relate personally or know of someone that is in this same dilemma.  So in trying to relate this blog to something that I could write with a passion about, I could think of no other plight more deserving than his.  He is not very technology savy, and I think the terms of his Social Media experience is confined to having a Facebook account.  So with the research that I am hoping to do for this blog, I hope to help him see and feel comfortable with using a new way of looking for a job.  This should be interesting as the only venues that have been used by him to looking for employment is both the paper and the companies personal website.  He isn’t exactly comfortable with putting his personal information on the “world wide web” and through this journey I hope to lay to rest myths and uncover opportunities, that job seekers such as him, might be missing out on using the old age method of looking for a job.

I want to draw on my own knowledge of SM tools, find new and useful tools for job searching and also find out how companies local and globally post job opportunities and then use this information to aid individuals who are out of work to help them to find a job.

Knowing that that the some of the most “coveted” jobs are rarely advertised, and it has been told to me that the only way to gain access to information about these job openings is through networking.  So what better ways of networking than through the use of SM tools.

I have a rough idea of the roadmap that I would like to follow, but like any good roadtrips, being able to change directions and add something new to the itinerary, is something that I would like to try in this blog.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Blog Intro – #1

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a comment